Focused on Success 30 Day Challenge – Day 9

I’m pretty pleased with how today went. I had my usual breakfast, almost tripped up for lunch but remembered the never ending coleslaw, then dinner was a lentil and rice pilaf with peas and spices that I topped with diced avocado. It wasn’t a recipe, it was a box that’s been in the pantry. It was “Near East” brand, and seems to be good as far as ingredients go. The only outright negative is that it’s not whole grain rice. I’m thinking I need to learn to par-cook brown rice, then I can make my own quicker cooking rice and lentils. I could mix the rice, lentils, and various freeze dried veggies and spices to make my own version of this $3 per box staple.

I managed to drink at least 96 ounces of water today. I might have had 112 ounces but I lost track of my refills. I know that I’ve been dehydrated, (and getting over being sick,) because I have a cold sore. There’s a kick in the face to drink more water!

It’s been over 100° so my activity consists of pacing or bouncing the baby to sleep, and time on the Health Walker in the garage. For now I think that’s fine…but our garage isn’t air conditioned. I may have to find a way to move that inside, or find space inside to do a DVD workout. I have an idea or two.

What good decisions did you make for your health today?

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Focused on Success 30 Day Challenge – Day 9”

  1. Annemarie Says:

    You’re gonna roast in that garage. I shall consult Bernarr Macfaddan’s Encyclopedia of Health and see what he recommends, besides walking, fasting, and enemas.

    I’m going to make barbecued carrot dogs today, with liquid smoke to make it smoky. Chopped, those carrots might work in Japanese spaghetti…but I’m not sure the recipe works for vegans, part of the charm is the ample amount of bacon grease on the spaghetti. (Nope, haven’t had it in ages. It’s one of the few meat things I miss).

    Still working on the lentil casserole…One more day!

    • AmyKathryn Says:

      *LOL* Yes, please let me know what might be recommended. Let me know what you think of the carrot dogs. I tried to replicate the recipe a couple of times, but it wasn’t good…now I know why! I had just done spaghetti, ketchup, and hot dogs. Bacon grease would’ve changed that…I can’t think of a vegan way to do that then. Congrats on the last day of the lentil casserole! I’ve got several days of cabbage salad left, depending how much I eat at a time.

Leave a Reply

