Focused on Success 30 Day Challenge – Day 8

It’s the start of a new work week, and while the weekend wasn’t great as far as my health goals go, I want to do better. Today I did my stretches (except for rolling on the ball…I fell off.) I planned on walking with Hubby after he got home from work, but it’s 103* today, so instead I did the same amount of time on the health walker/strider contraption in the garage. If it stays this hot I’ll need to figure out another plan because even the garage will be too hot. I did well with food. Breakfast was the usual; lunch was leftover carrot dogs, leftover mashed potatoes with peas, and leftover vegan coleslaw; and dinner was a garbanzo salad with celery, green onion, canned beets, and a little bit of homemade Italian dressing.

I realized that I haven’t shared how some of these things are made.

Carrot dogs are simple, and more of a method than an exact recipe. I don’t remember where I first saw the concept, so I can’t give credit, I’m sorry.  Clean and trim carrots as you like (I don’t peel them, but you can.) If they’re very thick you might want to chop them lengthwise. Steam them until fork tender (you don’t want them mushy, but they shouldn’t be crunch anymore either.) Toss them with a little bit of salt, olive oil, and seasonings that you like (we often use garlic powder, onion powder, and liquid smoke.) Let the coated carrots chill for a bit (literally…in the refrigerator.) Then grill them or pan fry them until they brown a bit. Dress as you would a hot dog. (I usually use relish and mustard.)

The vegan coleslaw is a recipe that I found at 86Lemons.com. I followed that recipe except that I had orange bell pepper instead of red, only used green cabbage, forgot to add the peas, and I doubled the whole thing. It is a yummy recipe, but a single batch is more than enough for a family to eat, and a double batch is way too much for one person to eat. Hubby doesn’t like cabbage, so won’t eat it. Baby C is too young to try it, and it has ingredients that the dogs and birds can’t have, so it’s all on me to eat it. (Note to self: Next time you plan on going to a potluck or shared lunch, make sure you don’t get sick after you make enough food for everyone to eat!)

The Italian dressing that I make is from Penniless Parenting. I used dehydrated onion flakes instead of onion powder, and I think that made it clump up a bit…it got pretty thick. That could also be because I used only extra virgin olive oil instead of a mix, and the olive oil gets thick at colder temperatures. I get around it by taking it out when I start making my food and giving it a good shake every so often, especially right before I pour it. It tastes good, so I’m happy with it.

Did you make good choices today? Have you let mistakes derail your efforts? Each choice is a new beginning, so don’t let one drag you down.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Focused on Success 30 Day Challenge – Day 8”

  1. Annemarie Says:

    Ooo thanks for the recipes. Carrot dogs were not at all how I imagined them!. I’ll try them, the idea amuses me profoundly. But I’ll definitely make the coleslaw, I love the stuff although my favorite is the Ramen Noodle salad that I’ve been making for ages. (Sweet slaw with broken up raw ramen noodles. Mmmmmm.) My husband won’t eat cabbage either, but coleslaw keeps forever, I’m pretty sure.

    Let’s see, yesterday I ate pistachio milk pudding (very good) with honey so that’s healthy right?? The lentil/quinoa casserole that will not die, also some khrayn from Penniless P which also lasts forever. Beets, honey, horseradish. Also Ezekiel bread. No exercise.Fail.

    • AmyKathryn Says:

      You’ll have to let me know what you think of the carrot dogs. They’re a big hit when we make them for people, though I’m not sure how much is the novelty of it. I had a vision of you making the Japanese spaghetti (I think that’s what we called it?) using carrot dogs instead…do you still make that?

      I’m most worried about the bell pepper that’s in the salad…though I think it’ll keep pretty well too…I’ll just keep eating, just keep eating…

Leave a Reply

