Focused on Success 30 Day Challenge – Day 1

I’ve joined a small group of people who have committed to developing healthy eating and exercise habits over the next 30 days. To help keep myself on track I’ll be posting here a short note about what I’ve done towards these goals.

Since I have a hard time making sure I eat actual meals, it is one of my goals to eat regularly, as opposed to realizing i”m starving and grabbing snacks. (My snacks are healthy, but they don’t equal a well rounded meal.) I also need to get on track with more activity in my day, so walking to get the mail is where I will be starting. Baby C will be in a carrier so that’s extra weight I’m walking with too. Doing my doctor prescribed stretches for my back is another piece of my whole health plan that I need to make into more of a habit.

Today I’ve done my back exercises (stretches to help keep my back from going out,) and eaten a healthy breakfast of my seed cereal with dried fruit. I plan on a garbanzo salad for lunch, and leftover lasagna for dinner. I also plan on going for a walk this afternoon after hubby gets home from work.

My garbanzo salad is a quick “throw it together” meal that works well at home or on the go, fresh or as leftovers. It’s not a real recipe, more just a concept. I take about a cans worth of garbanzo beans (~2 cups of cooked garbanzo beans), toss them with some salad dressing, olives if I have them, chopped vegetables of whatever sort that I have on hand (I especially like cherry tomatoes, cucumber, peppers,or canned beets.) It works great for stretching leftover veggies too. That’s 1-2 servings depending on how much was added to the beans. I usually use a homemade Italian dressing. It keeps well, and multiplies well too.

The lasagna is made with gluten free rice lasagna noodles, tomato sauce, chopped peppers, mushrooms, and a ricotta style cheese made from almonds.

Do you have a healthy plan for the day? What will you eat today?

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “Focused on Success 30 Day Challenge – Day 1”

  1. Annemarie Says:

    The salad sounds really good, and I’m always looking for stuff to do with leftovers. Right now for me, one meal is a green smoothie, one is a casserole of lentils, quinoa and raisins, and one is a chunk of homemade Ezekiel bread. We’re trying to cut the food budget, and this works. Healthy, too! Now if only my husband weren’t opposed to beans…I cook him a separate meal.

    Good luck with the exercise; I need some ambition in that direction too 🙂

    • AmyKathryn Says:

      I like to do green smoothies, but produce is really hit and miss here. Now that it’s gardening season I may be able to get some good stuff. How do you make your lentil/quinoa/raisin casserole? (I can’t eat most beans, but lentils are ok…I didn’t realize he didn’t like lentils…he was polite enough with the lentil loaf we brought! As for exercise…driving has made me lazy. I’d be all about walking for groceries and such if I were closer to town. It’s not impossible…it’s about 3 miles each way, and I’ve done it (unburdened) but the heat kills that a good part of the year (plus it adds almost 2 hours to the trip.)

  2. Annemarie Says:

    Um, hardly gourmet stuff. Some lentils (I used the little white ones cause that’s what I had), some quinoa (rinsed first) and covered with water. Cook till done. Add raisins. Actually it’s really good but I’m not fussy 🙂

    Wow, yeah, three miles in the heat with Baby C…just say no.

    Looks like we’re moving to AZ (long story) so maybe we can visit. I’ve been talking to an Adventist minister here — not to convert, he and his wife are just the nicest people ever — and maybe we can talk some about that. It’s fascinating.

  3. Annemarie Says:

    btw, in case you didn’t hear, remember the flea market in Callicoon? The owners, Frank and Carol, died in a house explosion on Sunday. So very sad. They were trying to retire.

Leave a Reply

