Flats and Handwashing Challenge – Day 8 (Unofficial)

 

Check out the rules here!

Check out the rules here!

The Flats and Handwashing Challenge is an annual event started in 2011 by DirtyDiaperLaundry.com  to raise awareness about how cloth diapering can be done economically and with minimal resources by almost anyone. Cloth diapering can allow families to allocate more resources to food and other necessities, without worrying about affording a product that is literally designed to be thrown out.

Day 8 (Unofficial): Overall Experience, What did you learn, Would you do it?

As I shared on my Day 7 post, I was out of town this weekend, so used flats the whole time. (I used a non-flat diaper for bedtime Sunday.)  First I went to church (which is about a 2 hour drive from my house.) Baby C stays with me the whole time, so I was the only one that had to deal with his diaper changes. Then we had a quick lunch with a friend and drove another little bit to go to a Ladies Tea. We drove to another friend’s house to sleep over and spent some time there in the morning, then headed to another friend’s house to spend some time with her and her kids before heading over to our midwife’s picnic. It was hot, but nice under the gazebo. After that we headed towards home, but about halfway he got fussy, so I stopped, fed him, and changed his diaper, but he was just done with being in the car, so cried most of the rest of the way home. I was tired, and knowing he wouldn’t be happy until he could be out of the carseat, so I just kept driving and talking and singing to him and reaching back to caress his head when I could (while sticking to the speed limit.) When we got home we greeted Daddy, I threw the diapers from the weekend into the bucket to soak, and we went to bed.

At the picnic Sunday there wasn’t a changing station, so while I was changing Baby C on the table one of the husbands asked me how it was to cloth diaper, so I talked to him about it, and he turned to his wife and said that he might be willing to go along with it. (Apparently she’s been trying to convince him!) People also asked about his amber necklace at both the tea and the picnic. He did wonderfully with all the different people and everything going on, but I think he was glad to see Daddy and be home.

One interesting thing that I found this weekend was that even though I kept checking his diaper, he went through fewer diapers each day while we were gone than he does at home. (I do find this true on day trips too, like when we just go to church and come home.) I don’t know why. I haven’t counted the diapers exactly yet, they’re soaking in the bucket, but it’s more than one bucket load worth. I may wash them in the bathtub instead, and I’ll count when I do that. My rough number, based on memory of changes, is that I have 6 from before we left (from about 4:30pm on Friday), then 7 for all day Saturday, and 7 for all day Sunday (So I still have about 16 clean flats, which means I’d still be able to use them today, even at home! Since we’re both a little tired from our weekend, and we have a lot to get done today, we’re not continuing the challenge. I definitely appreciate my washing machine a lot more now!  At least I know that if something happens I CAN wash by hand and do just fine.

I wouldn’t consider it too difficult to do regularly if our situation necessitated hand washing in order to use cloth diapers. I learned that even with being in the carseat so much, and having a few large bowel movements, we didn’t have leaks, even without the fancy liners and double gussets. I also learned that despite my back issues, hand washing is still feasible. In fact, it’s a good upper body workout, but not so much so that I was sore.

Would you go out of town with only flats and covers?

To read other people’s experiences with the challenge, check out DirtyDiaperLaundry.com’s post and the link-up at the bottom of her post.

Tags: , , ,

10 Responses to “Flats and Handwashing Challenge – Day 8 (Unofficial)”

  1. Michelle S Says:

    Congratulations on completing the challenge! I’m proud of you. As for your question, please don’t judge, but I am a disposable diaper mama both at home and out-of-town.

  2. mommy2apirateandprincess Says:

    I am a disposable mom as well but I admire those that clothe and who are willing to go that I mile. I just couldn’t.

  3. KT @ Cup of Tea Blog Says:

    Congrats on completing the challenge! I didn’t think cloth diapering was “doable” for me, but actually, reading this challenge, it’s made me think it may be more doable than I realize! Glad you took on the challenge!

  4. Mama's Happy Hive Says:

    I enjoyed following along with your challenge. To be honest, no I would not take only flats and covers on a trip. I would do that only if I had no other choice. 🙂

    • AmyKathryn Says:

      Thank you for following along. I’m thinking I’ll likely take only flats and covers when we visit family. They are more forgiving of varied laundry routines and take less space in luggage. It definitely isn’t something that everyone would enjoy! The point of the challenge was to share the feasibility, especially for those who have very limited resources, but it does have merits for anyone who’s thinking about cloth diapering.

Leave a Reply

