Flats and Handwashing Challenge – Day 1

 

Check out the rules here!

Check out the rules here!

The Flats and Handwashing Challenge is an annual event started in 2011 by DirtyDiaperLaundry.com  to raise awareness about how cloth diapering can be done economically and with minimal resources by almost anyone. Cloth diapering can allow families to allocate more resources to food and other necessities, without worrying about affording a product that is literally designed to be thrown out.

Day 1:  Why Am I Taking the Challenge?

When I first heard about the “Flats and Handwashing Challenge” last year, I was intrigued. Since cloth diapering is definitely about cost for us (as well as keeping chemicals away,) I was glad to hear that people do cloth diaper so inexpensively. I also tend to be crafty, so I’m not intimidated by having to fold fabric to fit on a baby. When I was a child we’d occasionally use “whatever was available” flats on my brothers (and my mother probably did the same for me too!)

My little guy is now about 5 months old, and we’ve been cloth diapering most of the time. We did get some pocket diapers, prefolds, and a few miscellaneous diapers, which we use most of the time, but we also have a bunch of birdseye flats. We use them to stuff the pockets, and also folded onto the baby, especially after a bath to let his bottom dry without risking a shower of another kind!

The hardest parts of this challenge for me will be the middle of the night diaper changes, and the hand washing. I don’t think they’ll be so difficult as to prevent me from continuing with the challenge, but we’ll see!

I hope to see how feasible it is to cloth diaper with just the flats, covers, pins (or Snappi,) and hand washing. I know many families who are on a very tight budget that could save a lot of money by cloth diapering. I’ve also seen so many articles about people trying to reuse disposables because they can’t afford to buy more.  I can’t counter the “it’s too hard” comment if I haven’t done it myself, since we’re currently blessed enough to have a working washer and dryer, as well as “easier” cloth diapers. (I do hang dry most of my diapers most of the time anyway, but we don’t have to.)

Have you ever had to make do with what you had on hand for diapering? Have you ever cloth diapered while hand washing? Share your experiences in the comments.

To read other people’s experiences with the challenge, check out DirtyDiaperLaundry.com’s post and the link-up at the bottom of her post.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

