Gluten Free, Soy Free, Vegan Bagels for the Win!

Ok, so they don’t look as good as the ones here, but for a first try, they look gorgeous to me, and tasted yummy!

I’ve been wanting bagels even more than I’ve been wanting regular bread (no luck yet on a loaf recipe that works yet.) I started looking around for a vegan, gluten free, soy free bagel recipe that I could eat that had the right kind of qualifications. I grew up in NY so am picky as to what constitutes a bagel. A flour with a strong flavor wouldn’t do it.Β  A recipe that isn’t boiled first wouldn’t do either. Then I found Kelli & Peter’s recipe. They’re from NY, so know what a real bagel is. None of the flours are strong flavored, and it didn’t need to be cinnamon raisin to cover up the odd flavor. There were only a couple of very small changes needed to make it vegan. I had everything on hand (well almost,) so gave it a go.

The original recipe is gluten free and soy free. It can be found at NoGlutenNoProblem. The changes I made were as follows:
Instead of egg whites in the bagel I use Ener-G egg replacer. For the egg wash I used extra virgin olive oil. I didn’t have quite enough potato starch, so used 20g potato starch and 17g arrowroot powder to make up the difference. The flour blend is listed here.Β  For all of the flours and starches in the blend I used Bobs Red Mill brand.

The bagels were great straight out of the oven, and half an hour later. I will be making a multiple batch the next time I make these as long as they freeze well. I guess I have to freeze one of these (I ate two already!) to see if they’ll do well being frozen then thawed. I ate them with some soy free Earth Balance and they made my mouth happy and won’t upset my gut. I made two plain, one onion, and one sesame. I ate a plain bagel and the onion bagel for dinner. I’m just so excited, and I hope you enjoy them too!

Tags: , , , ,

12 Responses to “Gluten Free, Soy Free, Vegan Bagels for the Win!”

  1. Rachel Says:

    Excited to find a vegan bagel recipe thats also gluten and soy free!
    How did you make the onion bagel?
    Thanks!

    • AmyKathryn Says:

      Hi Rachel! For any of the toppings just brush the top of the bagel with a bit of olive oil (or even water) and dip it top down into a pile of whatever you want before baking. I just realized you probably meant “How did I get crunchy yummy onion bits on top instead of them being chewy cooked onion bits?” I used dried onion flakes that you can find in the spice section. If you have a dehydrator (or patience, and attentiveness you could use a low heat oven) you could probably dice and dehydrate onion on your own as well and use them. (wow…there are so many grammatical errors here…but I’m tired and I think I answered your question before I could forget about it!) Enjoy your onion bagels! (hm…I need to find time to make some more, and yes, they do freeze well, but I would slice them BEFORE freezing them, then toast to thaw.)

  2. benevolentvegan Says:

    As long as they taste good, who cares what they look like? (Is my personal motto. Hee hee)

    • AmyKathryn Says:

      I’m assuming you mean the tomatoes? Yes, it all tasted good. Thank you πŸ™‚ I try not to throw away food that is still good (though ideally I use it BEFORE it looks questionable!)

    • AmyKathryn Says:

      Oh geez…have to apologize for the mommy brain moment I had. I didn’t realize what post you’d commented on…assumed it was the most recent one (falafel.) I’ve gotten better at making these bagels and actually need to restock my freezer.

      • benevolentvegan Says:

        Trust me, mid-life brain is just as bad!
        I made two bagels once. One turned out like a bloated snake, and the other was more like a hemorrhoid cushion. Still tasty mind you!

      • AmyKathryn Says:

        *LOL* I’m not sure that I’ve divulged my age on here…and I’m also not terribly sure what people consider “mid-life” these days . πŸ™‚ I’m glad the bagels you made were tasty…bloated snakes and hemorrhoid cushions probably aren’t! (I’ve never taken a bite of either, but judging by smell…not tasty.)

  3. benevolentvegan Says:

    Over 50

Leave a Reply

