Vegan Latkes, without soy or gluten

I haven’t posted in a while because typing is an issue at the moment. Long story short – a tendon injury on my right wrist/thumb. I have a few recipes to put up as I can type more, but this one just couldn’t wait. Growing up with Jewish grandparents I loved latkes, but never tried to make them. There was always someone else to do it! This year I decided to make them, and sought a recipe. I found this one at About.com, and with a few changes (and added details) they came out perfect…unfortunately they were eaten as I cooked them, so the proof is in my stomach, and we don’t want a picture of that!

Just in case the link doesn’t work, here is the recipe, copied exactly from that website:

This vegan latke recipe uses an egg replacer to make traditional potato pancakes.

Prep Time: 15 minutes

Cook Time: 15 minutes

Total Time: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

  • approx 3 pounds of potatoes
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 2 “eggs” (use Ener-G Egg Replacer)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • oil for frying

Preparation:

Grate the potatoes into a large bowl, or, if you have a food processor, it works well for this task, just process until fine.

Add remainder of ingredients, except oil, and combine well. Heat a few tablespoons of oil in a frying pan and drop potato mixture onto pan in small amounts, flattening to form pancakes.

Cook until golden brown, then flip. Be sure the potatoes get cooked all the way through. Serve with applesauce and enjoy!

A change, and some details to make it easier:

  • Bobs Red Mill Gluten Free Baking Mix absolutely works in this, as does the Ener-G egg replacer. The cooking instructions were a bit vague, so to clarify (for you to benefit from my burnt and raw tries)
  • Use a heavy frying pan (the cast iron worked beautifully!)
  • Get it hot, and get the oil in the pan hot before trying to cook these.
  • Once the pan is heated, I turned the heat to “3” on my electric stove.
  • Squeeze excess water out of each “blob” before putting it in the pan. (A serving spoon heaped is about the right size…the size you’d use for a side dish, not a large cooking spoon…a bit bigger than a tablespoon)
  • Drop the blob into the hot pan, and smush it together into a pancake shape and thickness.
  • Cook the one side until the edges start to brown (you can see that before lifting the latke)
  • Flip carefully, and brown the other side, peeking after a minute or so.
  • Make sure you keep enough oil in the pan to keep them from sticking, and to help fry them.
  • I was out of applesauce, but pear sauce worked just as well, and my husband likes them with tomato soup (which since it’s the canned name brand type, has gluten…why, I don’t know.)

So have a happy Hanukkah with latkes! 🙂

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Vegan Latkes, without soy or gluten”

  1. Mom Says:

    I always got the mix out of a box, though I know Grandma made them from scratch. What’s next, Blintzes? I am going to “rescue” the recipe box when I see Grampa on Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

